#JusJoJan Daily Prompt – Jan. 19th/17 – Rubbish

traffic

Welcome to the gates of hell, my city where I spend 3 to 4 hours of traffic gridlock with the rest of thousands of commuters, in the heat of around 34 degrees. The few elevated train lines that ply major routes in Metro Manila become packed like sardines, especially during morning and afternoon rush hours. Manila, where the stench of Pasig River, the rubbish on the streets, the thickest smog and the slum areas tells us teeming poverty is thriving and people go their normal ways. Where I don’t feel safe, as pickpockets roam the city and corruption is widespread. Where my home could be broken and things stolen. Manila, where I keep coming back.

Manila, my home
Poverty, traffic like hell
But life goes on

171-09-september-4th-2016

My feet brought me to this dirt
Don’t know why it gives me comfort
A creek where no one swims
Is this society’s urban paradigm?

No children playing
Nor dogs barking
Even birds have departed
All we see is flood and mud

People left their rubbish
After eating chips with fish
Milk cartons and bricks
Just to get their kicks

Sometimes even shopping carts
Development thwarted
Left my car, diary not so full
When my mind so roomful

Time to think, to reflect
Perhaps there’s a new prospect
On love, work and other themes
While I’m walking by the stream

For: #JusJoJan Daily Prompt – Jan. 19th/17

jjj-2017

2 thoughts on “#JusJoJan Daily Prompt – Jan. 19th/17 – Rubbish

Leave a Reply

