Creativity on my skin

lad
https://unsplash.com/?photo=WvS0rSIFAJE

life is tough and I could be mean
with tattoos and skulls
spending day and night in my jeans
seen life in my angle
express myself on my body
don’t have to agree and I’m free
express myself
express myself
angry with the world, I’m anti

green diamond and big reckless
emblem of hate, my view
politics, I don’t give a fuss
sermon, I flew
live me alone, I don’t need you
fairly, I haven’t got a clue
live me alone
live me alone
perhaps I just need to get through

in this world of hate I am in
misunderstanding, too
creativity on my skin
different rings that I knew
what have we done to disturb peace?
and when will all this hatred cease?
what have we done?
what have we done?
selfishness has to be decreased*

(c) ladyleemanila 2017

* The Trijan Refrain, created by Jan Turner, consists of three 9-line stanzas, for a total of 27 lines. Line 1 is the same in all three stanzas, although a variation of the form is not to repeat the same line at the beginning of each stanza. In other words, the beginning line of each stanza can be different. The first four syllables of line 5 in each stanza are repeated as the double-refrain for lines 7 and 8. The Trijan Refrain is a rhyming poem with a set meter and rhyme scheme as follows:

Rhyme scheme: a/b/a/b/c/c/d,d refrain of first 4 words of line five /c

Meter: 8/6/8/6/8/8/4,4 refrain/8

For: FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER- 2017 WEEK #04

cropped-ffpp1.jpg

7 thoughts on “Creativity on my skin

  1. i just mentioned this to another writer about expressing ourselves with body art and what you say is so true and one should never be judged by the colour of their skin or in this instance the ink on their body. Lovely words assembled with such care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

