Tremble – Daily Prompt

20150423_013750

Courage
by Robert William Service

Ten little brown chicks scattered and scuffled,
Under the blue-berries hiding in fear;
Mother-grouse cackling, feathers all ruffled,
Dashed to defend them as we drew near.
Heart of a heroine, how I admired her!
Of such devotion great poets have sung;
Homes have been blest by the love that inspired her,
Risking her life for the sake of her young.

Ten little chicks on her valour reliant,
Peered with bright eyes from the bilberry spray;
Fiercely she faced us, dismayed but defiant,
Rushed at us bravely to scare us away.
Then my companion, a crazy young devil
(After, he told me he’d done it for fun)
Pretended to tremble, and raised his arm level,
And ere I could check him he blazed with his gun.

Headless she lay, from her neck the blood spouted,
And dappled her plumage, the poor, pretty thing!
Ten little chicks – oh, I know for I counted,
Came out and they tried to creep under her wing.
Sickened I said: “Here’s an end to my killing;
I swear, nevermore bird or beast will I slay;
Starving I may be, but no more blood-spilling . . .”
That oath I have kept, and I keep it to-day.

misty

I think I thrive under pressure and will try to do my best to achieve what I have to do. I usually plan what I have to do and normally will finish it before the deadline, so that I could go over it and change or edit it, if needed.

Life is like being in a seesaw
Or it’s puzzling as a jigsaw
When you’re up, he’s down
He has to wait for the countdown
When you’re down, he’s up
Sometimes causing a breakup
Never at the same time, though
Such a shame, what a blow
Or could be like being in a swing
A lot of times, life could be baffling
Where we can suspend ourselves
Feeling greater than our real selves
And we can soar higher and higher
As we become bolder and bolder
But then we’ve got to come down
When blows are continually knockdown
Zip-lining, that’s another exciting thing
Bursting with joy, life could be blasting
Or going down the waterfall, that’s cool
Such sensation, it’s overcool and water-cool
Especially when the water glistens like diamond
Great feeling when we’ve been championed
The power to do something even though it’s tough
Tired laughter escaped with a huff and a puff
Not into details but we all do it from time to time
When we are inspired especially in summertime
We face life’s challenges or barriers full on
And when we’ve done it, it’s quite a phenomenon

For: Tremble

Other “tremble” posts:
Listen all of y’all it’s a sabotage! Conquer a fitness and nutrition backslide.
Trembling to Praising
https://designersophisticate.wordpress.com/2017/02/07/you-wake-up-scared/
Just Go In Quietly
https://ashortconversation.wordpress.com/2017/02/06/without-me/

6 thoughts on “Tremble – Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

