Aware – Daily Prompt

If the haiku is the understanding of the inner meaning of a moving moment (or a-ha moment) in an event … the haibun answers some of the questions of how one got to that inner meaning of the moving moment. The Japanese word for this inner meaning (or a-ha moment is known) as aware (pronounced ah-WAR-ay) or the spirit of the moment or object etc.

1st place.pdf

We all have them. Our childhood memories – the innocence of youth. The time when we just played or messed around, when we had to go to school or play in the street. When we were free of responsibilities and worries. We remembered our games, our playground, our playmates, the laughter, falling out with some of them but being friends again after 10 minutes and most of all, the fun.

 

One, two, three, you’re “it”
The innocence of childhood
Youthful memories

 

liberty-stairs

Huffing and puffing our way through the stairs
My heart beating hard as I’m so aware
Feeling my salty sweat and swollen legs
Oh shall we stop now, I seriously beg
And there are still more spiral steps to go
The light from the single window glows
Why did I take the challenge?
I don’t know why I took the plunge
Why didn’t I just stay at home?
I could do the yoga and go ohm
Oh, you’d love it, the view’s great
I’m still not there yet as I await
Once we’re on top, the whole town
Once we’re there, I’ll give you a crown
Such a convincing bloke he is
We’re there and I gave him a kiss
And wow it was really amazing
And I can go back down with a zing

 

For: Aware

Other “aware” posts:
https://hotwhitesnow.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/the-trauma-of-first-grade/
https://mystrugglingheart.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/why-me/
https://enrayn.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/where-to-start/
http://www.lostpropertyrepository.com/blog/2017/02/11/eleven/

Leave a Reply

