Departure – Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, April 12th 2017

departure

Of sunny dreams and bright future ahead

Of surviving against all odds and world

Weathering all types of hindrance and storms

Didn’t really matter, as long as there’s love

But as the days went by, things have changed

Pressure’s mounting and tempers getting frayed

Until we were leading different lives

There was betrayal and trust was broken

No other choice but to separate ways

Those were the days of being together

Now, just memories, no more us, farewell

 

No choice but to part

When love is no longer there

Departure from past

 

(c) ladyleemanila 2017

 

For: Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, April 12th 2017, April PAD Challenge: Day 12

11 thoughts on “Departure – Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, April 12th 2017

      1. Why the anon, well in the short time I have been into Japanese style poetry it seems that the USA, GB, in fact all the english speaking countries have adapted it to suit. Haiku now seems to be about anything, even allowing the syllable count to deviate from the 5,7,5 format, allegedly that the format is to constraining. Personally I think any poetry that is called a haiku, (as an example, but I talk inclusively), should conform, else have a different term of reference, eg English, European, American. I hasten to add that that the rules are not hard and fast, but if abused by the early Japanese authors, it was only the syllable count and not the content, as in for haiku it was nature, both human and natural. That was the way it was and with some restraint re the syllable count must remain so. IMO. I suppose I really am talking respect for the old ways.

        I would like to read your opinion, on my opinion.

        Mick

        Liked by 1 person

      2. when you said, anon, I thought it meant soon or in a while, like in Romeo and Juliet (Juliet said Anon when she was called). As for the haiku, I think you’re right in saying that we should conform to the syllable count as well as the content and execution. thanks for your clarification, Mick 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ha ha, the truth is I could of said what I did without the anon bit, but like I said I am relatively new to the Japanese poetry formats, and occasionally check that I am following the guidelines, as was the case this time. However just about every time I do I find the rules on English forms of Japanese poetry have changed, and sure enough they had again. So I am most grateful for you agreeing that we should conform, thank you.
    Best wishes,

    Mick

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

