Meeting the Bar: Pop Sonnets

The challenge is to choose a modern popular song, preferably one that everyone knows, and re-write it as a Shakespearean sonnet, which can be serious, humorous or just plain silly! To make it more fun, don’t give your sonnet its original title so that we can take a guess as to what it might be!

158478682_4x3

Don’t shed tears as I sing my lullaby
Just dream away as I take care of you
Dream of paradise and the blue sky
I’ll always look after you as you grew

Your father left us, we’ll find our own way
There’s always a rainbow after the rain
Just keep growing, my baby, walk, talk, play
You are the one who is keeping me sane

Dream away as I sing this cradle song
I’ll be rocking you to sleep my dear one
Dream of fairies and kittens all night long
And by tomorrow we will see the sun

So, sleep tight, my baby, sleep tight
I’ll rock you to sleep, everything’s alright

(c) ladyleemanila 2017

For: Meeting the Bar: Pop Sonnets by kim881, seventeenth day of NaPoWriMo

napo2017button1

2 thoughts on “Meeting the Bar: Pop Sonnets

  1. What a gorgeous lullaby sonnet, lady Lee! At first I thought it was the Bob Marley song, ‘Three Little Birds (Everything’s Gonna Be Alright)’ but now I’m not so sure. Mmm, I’ll have to come back to it.
    By the way, lady Lee, your sonnet wasn’t linked up to Mr Linky, I had to get to it via your ping back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

