Avid – Daily Prompt

Traverse by Bryan David Griffith
Traverse by Bryan David Griffith

It’s his wish to escape from grey walls and sky
With some supplies, he said goodbye
Traversing the forests, crossing the deserts
Even though he’s alone and a non-expert
Scaling mountains, negotiating some icebergs
From Heidelberg to Petersburg to Hamburg
Up and down, this and that way, never stopping
Never looking back, straight ahead he goes
Such determination you see on his face
In every movement too swift to count
Wandering, too impatient to halt
Until he reached his destination
He stopped and with a sigh
He yelled: “I’ve done it!”

index

If you really want to hear about it, the first thing you’ll probably want to know is where I was born, and what my lousy childhood was like, and how my parents were occupied and all before they had me, and all that David Copperfield kind of crap, but I don’t feel like going into it, if you want to know the truth. (“The Catcher in the Rye” by J D Salinger) Well, I was born in the Philippines, in Quezon City to be precise. I’m the second child of my parents, and I was born the same year as the eldest son – he was born in January and I was born in December. My parents were very young when they got married – my Dad still had to finish his degree and my Mom had just graduated when my Dad decided to take her away. In short, they eloped when she was returning her toga. Unlike the boy in the story, I had a wonderful childhood. It wasn’t lousy at all. I seemed to be always with siblings (2 more came after me) and cousins (hundreds of them!) and we played, argued, messed around and had lots of adventures. Our house was full of activities, friends came and went, relatives visited us, some cousins stayed when they had to go to college (especially when they were from the province and we were in Manila) and we had lots of parties. Birthdays, anniversaries, Christmases, New Year’s Day, fiestas, etc. Any excuse for a party, we’d have one!

For: Avid

Other “avid” posts:
https://azaleafr0st.wordpress.com/2017/04/23/9-payback/
https://thesoulsearchersite.wordpress.com/2017/04/23/world-book-day/
https://frankprem.wordpress.com/2017/04/23/the-blackberry/
https://lanternwords.wordpress.com/2017/04/23/too-avid/

Leave a Reply

