V is for Villonnet

V

The Villonnet was created by D. Allen Jenkins.

A Villonnet is a hybrid of the Villanelle and the Sonnet. It has the Iambic Pentameter of both, but holds the four-stanza/line structure of the sonnet, while utilizing the two-line rhyme nature of the villanelle. The final stanza replaces the sonnet couplet with a typical villanelle tercet.

(5) Words: | SCORE | SLEEP | FREE | CALM | ESCAPE |

I can’t sleep, free me from your memories
I’d like to remain calm from disturbance
Escape to a place where there’s no more you
It doesn’t matter where, hills or alleys

I don’t know what the score is, but not threes
Three’s always a crowd, so I have to leave
I could be free to roam the whole wide world
I can’t sleep, free me from your memories

Enough about your lies and trickeries
The situation is not getting better
You’re full of promises but no action
It doesn’t matter where, hills or alleys

I can’t sleep, free me from your memories
Stop haunting me wherever I go
It doesn’t matter where, hills or alleys

(c) ladyleemanila 2017

For: Weekly Writing Prompt #85, #AtoZChallenge – 4-26-2017 – Letter V

DOOR Template Instructions

2017 Badge

Leave a Reply

