Weekly Smile 84 #weeklysmile

weeklysmile2

On this day and age, I’d say thanks
To big and small things I received
Giving me light when it is dark

Being able to climb the mountain
See what’s wise and what isn’t wise
On this day and age, I’d say thanks

To have my family and health
To be able to travel, too
To big and small things I received

The sun shines, birds sing, flowers bloom
Thanking God for all His blessing
Giving me light when it is dark*

(c) ladyleemanila 2017

* Cascade, a form created by Udit Bhatia, is all about receptiveness, but in a smooth cascading way like a waterfall. The poem does not have any rhyme scheme; therefore, the layout is simple. Say the first verse has three lines. Line one of verse one becomes the last line of verse two. To follow in suit, the second line of verse one becomes the last line of verse three. The third line of verse one now becomes the last line of verse four, the last stanza of the poem. See the structure example below:

a/b/c, d/e/A, f/g/B, h/i/C

DOOR Template Instructions

(5) Words: | AGE | SEE | DARK | WISE | CLIMB |

So, what made you smile this week?

For: Weekly Smile 84 #weeklysmile, Weekly Writing Prompt #101

Also for: Nurt Thurs – Return to Childhood, #ThreeThingsThursday – What made me smile this week…, TToT – 8/11/17

#Bathwater Ten Things of Thankful

Travel theme: Words

I’m a lion, hear me roar
No prospects, life is a bore
A knight in shining armour on a horse
I’m shouting, my voice is hoarse
A dinosaur, a steeple church
I long for something to search
A street scene with all the girls
They’re so pretty with their curls
A grey train passing a grey house
Don’t give in to pressure from spouse
It was a grey day, too I suppose
The dog barks as the cow mows
I’m Taufkirchen in big letters
My speech was beginning to slur
I live and breathe in this city
I love my town, I’m making it pretty
Children playing amidst our tower blocks
Girls with their smocks and frocks
I can shout as loud as I can
I can express myself until they ban
I can tell the world how I feel
I don’t steal so don’t squeal

For: Travel theme: Words

Such a surprise!

img_9404
Photo by Jane

THIS WEEK’S WORDS come from “Her Sweet Deceit” by James Laughlin: joys, best, surprise, hair, think, someone, sweet, deceit, only, laugh, girls, alike

Such a surprise when I saw you
A sweet surprise out of the blue
And to think of all the places
We are to meet here as it does
Two girls laughing and all the buzz
We’re so alike with our auras
Known each one since we had braces
We used to share jeans and blouses
Someone like you bring the best fuzz
With the joys you give for ages
Only friend that I know is true
Had fun until we say adieu*

(c) ladyleemanila 2017

* The Duo-rhyme, a poetic form created by Mary L. Ports, is a 10 or 12-line poem, with the first two and last two lines having the same rhyme scheme, and the center of the poem (lines #3 through #8 or #10) having their own separate monorhyme scheme.

Meter: 8 beats per line, written in iambic tetrameter (4 linear feet of iambic) Rhyme Scheme: 10-line: a,a,b,b,b,b,b,b,a,a and 12-line: a,a,b,b,b,b,b,b,b,b,a,a

For: 100 Word Wednesday: Week 31, Whirligig 122

Sunday's Whirligig logo

Writespiration #127 52 Weeks in 52 Words Week 32 – A streaky sky

index

Woke up and the sky was streaky
They want to ski
Up the white clouds
Away from crowds

Patterns of white and blue sky
Please don’t say bye
Think about it
Not good to quit

What do they mean, these streaky clouds?
Women with shrouds
Full of their grace
Their own pace*

(c) ladyleemanila 2017

  • The Minute Poem is rhyming verse form consisting of 12 lines of 60 syllables written in strict iambic meter. The poem is formatted into 3 stanzas of 8,4,4,4; 8,4,4,4; 8,4,4,4 syllables. The rhyme scheme is as follows: aabb, ccdd, eeff

For: Writespiration #127 52 Weeks in 52 Words Week 32

writespiration-2017