© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Finish the story begins with: “I watched the vulture looking at me hungrily as I lay on the ground bleeding and injured.”
My heart’s pounding, wallowing in self-pity with the stark reality that anytime now, when worse comes to worst and I’m dead, the vulture will strike and take me for his dinner. Why didn’t I see that big rock? Or why didn’t I take another cyclist with me? We could have then helped each other while training or circling this path for the race. I stopped and listened while I lay on this concrete ground, straining my ears for any sound. “Help!” I shouted. Then my face was illuminated by a smile. Two hitchhikers were coming to my rescue.

cottage-at-dorine-widescreen-high-resolution-wallpaper-download-cottage-images-free

It’s been a month since he’d seen her the last time. They’ve spent almost the entire winter holiday together. In a country that was a long way from his. Then they kissed. They kissed often. And when he had to leave it almost broke him. She would be here in a couple of minutes. Not long now. But how would it be? What if their reunion wouldn’t be the way he was hoping for? What if the chemistry was no longer there? What if the fire was no longer burning?
Please continue…
Conall paced up and down the hall. He managed to get away from his family on the pretence of working away. It was also good that the project was not finished yet, so his boss sent him to this place for another month. A month! One long month with Mandy, he could hardly wait. God, he missed her so much. The way she flicked her hair, the way she pouts when something upsets her, her mincing of words and all the little things she does. That winter was like being in seventh heaven, if there’s such a place like that. Not long now. Then, he heard the familiar sound of her car being parked in front of the cottage. He knew she’d seen his car. Her quickening steps toward the house and her “Darling, you’ve come back!” made all his worries gone. With open arms, they kissed! “Welcome back, Darling!”
(150 words)

IMGP1276

His heart was heavy. He had to find the right words to let her know. It would be a shock for her and he wasn’t sure how she would handle the news. Why? He had asked himself that question thousands of times over the last thirty minutes. Why? Somehow there had to be an answer for it. If only he could come up with one before he had to tell her.

The situation has polarised into two competing opinions. Should he tell her or not? His love for her should be selfless. He should stop being a posey and tell her the truth. But can she handle it? If he carries on with astonishing lack of discernment and stick with the lies, then that’s not fair for her. Sooner or later, the flames of their loves will turn to ashes and joy will turn to fear. That’s a lot to handle. He should tell her who he really is. He should reveal his true identity. That he’s not from this world. That he was summoned to go back to where he came from. That it hurt him to leave her but he has to do what was commanded of him. He was able to accomplish his mission on earth and now it’s time to go home.

For: Creativity Challenge 40

Recent posts

FAMOUS QUOTES

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one. -John Lennon

Spread love everywhere you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier. -Mother Teresa

Designed with WordPress