A pinch of purpose

For the absolute truth

Flexible as to person to person

Freedom to choose in a perfect circle

Fortitude or bravado in our youth

A pinch of purpose

A reason or reckoning that’s for certain

Sometimes denial is so smooth

Flexible as to person to person

Peace at last, don’t be nervous

Independent of our own truth

A pinch of purpose

Reality is sometimes a burden

Tell ourselves anything to soothe

Flexible as to person to person

Finding truth is such a circus

Truth versus the untruth

A pinch of purpose

Flexible as to person to person*

(c) ladyleemanila 2020

  • Villanelle

For: http://www.octpowrimo.com/2020/10/octpowrimo-day-14.html, https://puttingmyfeetinthedirt.com/2020/10/01/october-writing-prompts-3/

8 responses to “OctPoWriMo Day 14 – A pinch of purpose”

  1. its a lovely take on the prompt…
    “Peace at last, don’t be nervous….” true…. 🙂
    https://serendipityofdreams.blogspot.com/2020/10/truth.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you 🙂

      Like

  2. I tend to temper the truths I tell my mother. It’s easier to get along with her if she doesn’t have reason to criticize me. Sometimes I think the fact that I’m breathing is enough reason for her to criticize me, but if I weren’t breathing, she’d criticize me for that too. We have a difficult relationship.
    ~cie from poetry of the netherworld~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes, we choose what we could tell, right? thanks, Cie 🙂

      Like

  3. A pinch of purpose— loved the way you phrased it. A lovely villanelle👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you, Roshni 🙂

      Like

  4. Reality is sometimes a burden

    Tell ourselves anything to soothe

    Truth, with more than a pinch of purpose… (I really love that repeating line, by the way).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. so glad you like it, Angela 🙂

      Like

FAMOUS QUOTES

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one. -John Lennon

Spread love everywhere you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier. -Mother Teresa

Designed with WordPress