bus
JulyMorgueFile file6681324364046

come
quickly
accident
I need your help
that was a strange call
coming from my old aunt
on the other side of town
I’ve got to change and catch the bus
I hope to catch the bus at this time
and I was gone, worrying about her
she’s my mum’s sister and her husband died
I promise my mum to check on her
every now and then I get this
but there was really nothing
I can’t pretend it’s fun
life is not easy
and I arrived
she’s alright
oh well
tough!*

(c) ladyleemanila 2017

* The poetry form, Etheree, consists of 10 lines of 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 syllables. Etheree can also be reversed and written 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1. Get creative and write an Etheree with more than one verse, but follow suit with an inverted syllable count.

Reversed Etheree: 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

Double Etheree: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 10, 9, 8, 7, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

For: FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER- 2017: Week 31

cropped-ffpp1

8 responses to “Come quickly!”

  1. […] “Come Quickly” (Double Etheree) on Lady Lee Manila […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great suspenseful story, and the tension felt while reading it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great story. Tension build well until the final twist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. cheers, Athling 🙂

      Like

  4. Lovely poem. You make it work well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you, Susan 🙂

      Like

  5. a little story woven into an Etheree. I will try my hand at it.
    http://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/08/prisoners.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure you’ll weave a story, too! thank you, Kalpana 🙂

      Like

Recent posts

FAMOUS QUOTES

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one. -John Lennon

Spread love everywhere you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier. -Mother Teresa

Designed with WordPress