AtoZ2019O

Octameter, created by Shelley A. Cephas, is a poem made up of 16 lines divided into two stanzas of 8 lines each. Each line has a syllable count of 5. The set rhyme scheme is: a/b/c/d/e/d/f/d g/h/c/g/i/g/d/d.

p1190223
Photo by Sue Vincent

Which way do we go?
This way to freedom
Over there is hard
That way is easy
Will you follow me?
Don’t feel uneasy
When I go away
Coming back weekly

With all these choices
Can’t make up my mind
Has to be on guard
Hearing some voices
Here and faraway
Thought it was Joyce’s
I’m feeling queasy
It was so breezy

(c) ladyleemanila 2019

For: Thursday photo prompt: Decisions #writephoto,  O is for your Oscar Speech (#AtoZChallene)

10 responses to “O is for Octameter”

  1. A lovely poem and totally perfect for National Poetry Month. See what I’m obsessed with at Girl Who Reads

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you, Donna 🙂 I like your books!

      Like

  2. Wow, a tricky one! Had to read it twice at least (well, maybe 4 times!) before understanding the rythm ;)) I’m very bad in poetry… but I learn a lot here on your blog!

    Like

    1. thank you, Frédérique 🙂

      Like

  3. This would be difficult for me. I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you, Michele 🙂

      Like

  4. […] Continue reading at Lady Lee Manila […]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like the rhythm to this one!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. thank you, Sue 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

FAMOUS QUOTES

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one. -John Lennon

Spread love everywhere you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier. -Mother Teresa

Designed with WordPress