dark-clouds-on-a-sunny-day
Photo by Sue Vincent

Dark clouds rolling in so stark
Stark signal thrown in the dark
Shadow on the hills as wind blows
Blow in the tunnel of shadows
Dead silence as I sigh in dread
Dread sentence denying of dead

Still I wait even with chill
Chill voices of wail I sat still
Bag of patience I cannot brag
Brag I skip put it in a bag
Dark in the night I heard a lark
Lark singing alone in the dark*

(c) ladyleemanila 2020

* The Mirror Sestet, created by Shelley A. Cephas, is a poem that can be written in one or more stanzas of 6 lines each. The specific guidelines for this form are as follows:

The first word of line 1 rhymes with the last word of line 1.
The first word of line 2 is the last word of line 1
and the last word of line 2 is the 1st word of line 1.

The first word of line 3 rhymes with the last word of line 3.
The first word of line 4 is the last word of line 3
and the last word of line 4 is the 1st word of line 3.

The first word of line 5 rhymes with the last word of line 5.
The first word of line 6 is the last word of line 5
and the last word of line 6 is the 1st word of line 5.

The Mirror Sestet can also be written in non-rhyme.
All rules must be followed except there is no 1st and last word rhyming.

img_3566

For: Thursday photo prompt: Darkness #writephoto,  Wordle 465 Jul 19 by bwarren

4 responses to “Thursday photo prompt: Darkness #writephoto”

  1. […] Continue reading at Lady Lee Manila […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like the emphasis this form gives the words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you, Sue 🙂 glad you like it ❤

      Liked by 1 person

FAMOUS QUOTES

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one. -John Lennon

Spread love everywhere you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier. -Mother Teresa

Designed with WordPress